3800 swap questions

Shade

Hi guys, I'm new to the whole forum thing, so I apologize if I've done something wrong.

But I have a 92 lumina Z34 with the 5 speed that I'm rounding up pats to do a 3800 series 3 swap on and I've got a whole boat load of questions that I can't seem to find any answers for.

First and most important is the motor mounts, which ones do I need for my frame/motor?

I'm keeping the 5 speed and I know I need a 3800 flywheel from a camero or firebird and it will need turned down. To what spec?

I will be converting the car to OBD2 also and I have a lead on a 96 GP that I can get the wireing from and I plan to run a 98 GP pcm and engine harness on the motor. Will all this work together? I will have the pcm reprogrammed if it will help.

I will need to convert the motor to drive-by-cable which throttlebody will I need? (it's a series 3 non supercharged)

That pretty much wraps up the questions for now, if I think of something else I'll let you know! Thanks in advance!

Edited by Shade

• Replies 51
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Shade

• Dark Ride

• BXX

• xtremerevolution

Top Posters In This Topic

Posted Images

The 96 GP wiring harness wont do you a bit of any good.

Pretty much all needed parts will be from a 98-99 Lumina/MC with the 3800 S2.

You will need to get the PCM reflashed to get the VATS disabled, or the car wont run. Other way to do it is wire in a VATS module with a resistor wired into the key circuit and then wire the VATS enable out the the PCM.

IIRC 3800's need an oil filter adapter to clear the 5-speed. I forget who has them.

I think it's from a LeSabre? Or Reatta?

For the cable driven throttle, you'll have to either make a TB adapter...or I believe ZZP sells one if you can't/aren't able to make your own. Or, you can just upgrade to an LS1 or Northstar TB