Brake light comes on when i hit the brakes, then goes off?!?

m0sh_man

my brakes appear to be working alright, but when i hit the brakes the light comes on then after its pressed for a second or two it goes back off.

ive noticed that when i first push the brake that the car is slow to stop, then as soon as the light goes off it stops real fast, when the car is stopped and i push the brake hard i can hear something buzz which im assuming that its the ABS, but im not sure whats going on.

sorry for all the questions, im new to the w-body car I seen the 3.4L 5 speed GTP and i just had to have it, i knew it was rare.

I just want the car to be safe on the road.

matthew

Is it the Brake or ABS light?

If brake light, the fluid is low and needs to be filled or you need a brake job.

If ABS, there's a more serious problem. Could involve a dying ABS module or pump.

Double check level and you may want to properly bleed the system so that there's no air in the lines.

- Erik

its the brake light itself, I just replaced the drivers side rear rotor, and the pads on that side, the pad on it fell apart, the front pads are brand new, and the passenger side rotor is in good shape along with the pad. The ebrake works fairly well it could be tightened alittle.

Should i go around and re-bleed the whole system?

Is it possible that one of the caliper is leaking or something?

when i bought the car the fluid was full in the small side of the resevior, but the side that holds the most fluid was completly empty not exactly sure what that means.

let me know if you have any info,

im glad to know there is an ABS light and a brake light.

matthew

when i bought the car the fluid was full in the small side of the resevior, but the side that holds the most fluid was completly empty not exactly sure what that means.

That means there is severe pad wear on the brakes.

The brake fluid level is an indication of when to replace brakes / components.