1994 Vert 5 spd swap started

thunderbirdrob

Hey everybody, Im back. First I would like to say that putting a 5 spd in is no easy task. Even though I have a doner car with the 5spd (92 cutlass) there are plenty of modifications and I am just getting started. Seems to me I have read some posts on this site regarding the swap and from what I remember reading on some posts some of you guys are on drugs or don't have a clue what you are talking about, no malice intended. First of all nothing so far is interchangeable without some sort of modification, weather it be a grommet hole for cables , wiring, or even the casting for the steering column. I kept the original casting from the 94 which holds the brake peddle assembly and steering column so as I wouldn't have to use the 92 casting which is different in many ways even though it will bolt in. I added the bracket for the clutch peddle,and drilled a 5/8 hole for the cruise switch behind the clutch peddle.(The hole mounting centers of the steering column on the 92 are different then the 94.) I was able to swap the brake peddle , but had to cut off the switch contact on the 94 brake peddle and tack it to the small brake peddle from the 92 so the peddle would hit both switches, as the assembly of the brake peddle and brake switch and wiring connections are different then the 92. Anyway to do what I have done I have taken the whole dash assembly apart, ripped out the seats, console, and carpeting, removed brake booster, cruise control,. The grommet hole for the clutch cable has to be squared up and a small hole has to be drilled to hold the cable in place. The shifter and console is pretty simple by swapping in the clips and bolting it down, although I will have to drill a new hole for the cables. Haven't even touched the tranny yet and by the looks of things not for awhile until I get the interior squared away less the dash in case of wiring problems or mods. I will post pics if requested.