new to the forum, asking for help

turbo dad

I am new to to all this, so parden my ignorance. As the name says I am a turbo dad, my son has a 1990 turbo Grand Prix, and we are trying to get it back on it's feet. He has a 1995 and just sold a 1993 G/P, so he is familer with the w-body cars. Myself, I guess I am still old school, with my 1972 Hurst SSJ, but that ok with me.

I have a question for anyone who may have an idea. The turbo car, has been running Ok, with not much problems until a few months ago. For some reason, after start up, and after a few miles it starts laying out a white cloud of smoke that will rid the earth of every misquito alive. My son's other cars the 1993 & the 1995 both have shared the blown intake gasket and head gasket, thing with him but neither of them layed out the white smoke that the turbo does. We think it may have a bad oil seal in the turbo and after it gets hot, it starts sucking oil into the exhaust.

Is this something common to the turbo unit? if it is, will a rebuild to the turbo correct it? Where can we get the correct rebuild kit for the turbo. I believe it to be a t-25 Garrett. What type of seal does it use, Dynamic or Carbon.

thanks

First off, welcome to the forum!

White exhaust smoke wouldn't be smoke from the turbo. When you are getting smoke from the turbo, oil is getting pushed past the turbo oil seals, and when the oil gets burnt and thrown out the exhaust, it makes a bluish smoke.

What does the exhaust smell like? Does is smell strongly of gas? It sounds to me like your fuel injectors are on their way out (mine were the same way, I had raw fuel dripping out my exhaust lol) To fix this, I replaced all 6 of my injectors with Ford C302 Yellow Top fuel injectors, which flow very close to the stock injectors and work excellent.

Nick

A couple suggestions.

1) TGP Nick stated it first about the injectors...if it is indeed an injector issue, the website is http://www.five0motorsports.com (that's five ZERO, not "oh").