95monte866

Hi All,

I'm new to this forum and I'm looking for some help.

I just recently bought this 95 monte and cant figure out this low brake pedal situation. I recently have:

1. Replaced master cylinder

2. Replaced both rear(leaking) cylinders

3. Replaced both drums

4. Replaced shoes

5. Replaced Front pads

6. Adjusted rear adjusters

7. Pressure bleed the whole system (10 times)

8. I inspected everything

There's no leaks , no air in the system, and no bulging brake lines. I looked at the abs modulator and tested the " homing of the motor pack" and it works as it should. The car stops but has alot of pedal travel before the brakes starts to grab.

I've been working on cars for over 20 years and never ran into one like this. Could a faulty abs modulator valve cause this? or does this type of system typically have alot of pedal travel 4-6" (1"-2" from the floor)

Any input would great. Thanks

have you checked the tube comming off the brake booster? It can become soft. Mine has all new brakes all the way around and still has a soft low pedal, as most of our cars do. I would buy they stainless steel brake lines and see if that helps. Later Jay

Keep us updated on what happens

95monte, my car has a soft brake pedal, compared to other cars. Everything is new on my vehicle. If you have an early 95, you get the small front disc rotors and rear drums. So those don't help braking any. As long as the booster hose is fine (not collapsing) then you're ok, well, you SHOULD be. My brake guy said he can manually adjust pedal travel, but I really don't mind. I got accustomed to the braking in my car. Also, if you havenj't already, swing by MyMonte.com!

WMZZZ

Maybe I'll check this line as my brake pedal falls to the floor (no braking action till about 2" off the floor). I can't even get it to lock the wheels anymore, it really lacking braking. Hell, if I kill the engine I can stop the car faster without the assist then with!