Upholstery disassembly??

biggyfries

I have a 94 Culass Convert with ultra low miles, its loaded with the 3.4 engine, and it is a jewel, but it was driven by the previous owner's 16yo son, and he allowed a lot of things to go haywire, --I have been addressing the flaws one at a time and the next item on my list is to fix the driver's seat cover. It is showing very little wear on the usual spots on the edges of the bolsters of the seat, but oddly the small horizontal seam at the top of the seat-back has come unstitched. What I'd like to do is separate the seat back from the seat cushion. I presume the hinge can be taken apart or separated in some way. Once I have the seat halves separated I want to remove the leather seatback uphostery, turn it inside out and re-stitch the seam by hand (many years ago I was a leather worker hobbyist and made many nice items by stitching by hand) So who can tell me how to take the seat apart to that point so I can work on the seat back itself? Can I remove it from the seat cushion by simply prying the hinge apart, leaving the lower cushion bolted in place?

I would go out and try to figure it out myself but its raining and the car is in a garage elsewhere. I hope someone has taken the upholstery apart and knows how to do this job. Any advice will be appreciated.

Upper cover can be removed without taking the seat apart or out of the vehicle. Headrest comes out with a swift "pull" upwards.

The cover has a plastic strip at the bottom holding it together. Holding both sides of the cover, pull down and outwards on the

plastic seam to separate it. You can use a screwdriver at one end to get this started.

The cover is velcroed at the front side. Put your hand under the cover and carefully "pry" the velcro apart, separating the cover

from the foam pad. There will be two vertical strips just inside the bolster and a horizontal strip approx in the center. Once these