fishman517

Hi I'm new to this forum, I built a Grand Prix Turbo while I was working at Mclaren Engines in 1988, I then went to work at ASC as their specialty vehicle mechanic/tech/fabricator. I have a lot of experience with these cars and I have fixed many of them but just can't seem to figure my own out. The problem I am having is stalling and not restarting. I have checked all the power and ground sources to ECM/DSI/Injectors and fuses in these circuits. It is intermittent, sometimes it will restart and sometimes it won't. I have tried another ECM/crank sensor/DSI/cleaned the grounds, ran it with the TECH 1 (no codes). When it won't start and you shut the key off the primary cooling fan cycles for about 30 seconds and stops, sometimes it will restart. I thought it was heat related but it has done the same thing cold. I also put a timing light on all the plug wires and it is getting spark. I am getting a noid light to see if the injectors are firing.If you have any ideas or this happened to you please respond. Thank-you

Vehicle started running bad about two years ago and I quit driving it. When I had time to work on it I pumped out all the old fuel and did a pressure/flow test at that time and it was fine, when changing the plugs I had two wet ones, so I did a leak down and it was dropping, changed those two injectors and ohmed the others and it ran fine. When I started having the stalling problem I ohmed the grounds found high resistance cleaned them and rechecked and they were .1 ohms. I kept a fuel pressure guage on itand a timing light on a plug wire. When I accelerate the engine the pressure increases as it is supposed to.

Hi I'm new to this forum, I built a Grand Prix Turbo while I was working at Mclaren Engines in 1988, I then went to work at ASC as their specialty vehicle mechanic/tech/fabricator.

:eek: please stick around for a while. It is cool (an honor really) to have people here that actually were there building these cars when they first came out.