3.1 Turbo V6 Rebuild

RollingRock213

Hey all, I am new to the board here. I own a 1990 white ste and I want to rebuild the motor. I know Murray's auto parts does sell a rebuild kit, have any of you had any experience with these rebuild kits or any tips? Does a better rebuild kit exist anywhere? I know the turbo 3.1 internals differ a little bit from the stock 3.1's GM put in all their cars, however is there any other really significant differences. Yes I am a noob so I am sorry if this annoys anyone. I also plan to add a bigger TB, a better cam shaft, and new injectors. Anyone have any advice when trying to get bigger power gains from these motors. Obvisouly a bigger turbo would be better, but I want to try do a basic rebuld and have it run fine again. I want to rebuild it right also, no hack jobs, the crossover pipe will probalby also have to be rebuilt too, any advice for that? The engine has 204,000 miles on it so the trubo will also have to be rebuilt. Any help would be amazing.

COntact TGPilot (Kenny) on http://www.tgpforums.com about the crossover rebuild. Quality job! Up front, if you hear anyone recommend Jeff M., do not heed that advice, since he has not been around in ages. He pioneered many TGP modifications, but has taken a long absence; if you try to contact him, he won't respond.

Kenny (TGPilot) for the crossover and chip whenever you get to it.

GutlessSupreme (Tony) would be the person to talk to.

dont just brush him off guys. :wink: he said no hack jobs.

we WILL help you with your project sir! and try to point you in the right direction.

we WILL help you with your project sir! and try to point you in the right direction.

:confused?:

:thinking:

:leaving:

i wonder sometimes how long it will take, or rather, how many ignorant comments by this guy before he is banned from here, like Kenny, who had the gonads to do it over at TGPforums.com

speaking of which, visit http://www.tgpforums.com for a dedicated site to the TGP/TSTE.