Design or damaged back bow?

John M

My car has been at the upholsterers getting a new top. He/we have worked out some small problems, I had to make a bracket that was broken. He is putting the top on and the back bow is not straight. This is the bow right above the rear glass. It seems to be bent, I say it is designed that way. my man says it was bent somehow. It is bent forward more than an inch. I don't know. His concern is the back seam will not be on the bow like most verts. Are these like most....or not??

post-6667-143689080347_thumb.jpg

post-6667-143689080354_thumb.jpg

Looks more to me like he started at the front, and worked his way back....and the seam now doesn't meet up with the bow.

I'm no expert here, but my understanding is you work from the back to the front, to avoid an unfortunate alignment problem.

It COULD be bent, but that seems much less likely than the explaination I gave...if you could give a measurement, say from the center of the large bolt, back to the front of the bow, we could always compare with the measurement on our cars.

I would hope that his shop would know to start from the back. I can't think of a reason to start from the front on any top install, regardless of make/model. Could the new top have been cut/sewn incorrectly?

An oversized Prom Queen riding in a parade might bend the bar.

hahahaha oversized prom queen nice.

Yeah the way the tops go on, you start at the #4 bow and work forward.

If it IS bent, I would go ahead and try and bend it back before dismantling anything.