89-93 B4U front valence repair?

supertrick_05

Has anyone ever successfully repaired a tore or cracked front valence on an 89-93 B4U car? If so, please let me know how. Here's what mine looks like... :mad:

gp9.jpg

Thanks!

I repaired mine, but I'm a collision tech so it wasn't too difficult to do the work or get the materials/tools.

Obviously it needs to be ground down properly (U-grooved), and secured together (I used aluminum tape). I then used a special meltable urethane rod in a plastic welder and laid a bead on the front and back. If you use regular urethane repair kits, you'll need to use a rigid backing material so it doesn't break again (it looks like drywall tape, but is obviously stronger).

After it cured, I filed the front down and then used a urethane filler to smooth it, then primed it. My valence was cracked, had torn mounting holes, and had a piece torn off the bottom (about 7" x 2"), so I had to cut a piece from an old bumper to glue in aswell. After priming it, no one would be able to tell where I repaired it, and is a lot cheaper than a new one, and just as strong.

PS - I think I PM'ed this to you by accident :lol:

There is worse plastics to work with... this one isn't terribly hard. The only reason it can be difficult is because it can't be melted. Oh, and as with any plastic, make sure you use plastic cleaner before and after any sanding :wink:

It can be repaired with 1/4" welded screen bent to the shape of the back side of the valence and bondo glass it. then the front side can be grooved out and filled with regular Rage body filler. it will be rock hard after that and not pliable like it might be with a plastic welder though.

It can be repaired with 1/4" welded screen bent to the shape of the back side of the valence and bondo glass it. then the front side can be grooved out and filled with regular Rage body filler. it will be rock hard after that and not pliable like it might be with a plastic welder though.