L36 Lower Intake Manifold - Progress with Pics!!!

xtremerevolution

I've been working on my girlfriend's sister's car for a while, the 1996 Regal. I ordered all the parts necessary to replace the upper intake, and I figured if I went that far, I'd go right ahead and replace the LIM gaskets as well. So I ordered those too, and started working on this engine. I took apart everything, got the intake plenum off, and removed every single bolt I could find that mounts directly to the lower intake manifold. However, I can't get the damn thing off. I tried wedging it loose (making sure not to wedge anything near the gasket contact area), but even with a reasonable amount of force, the thing doesn't so much as budge. I'm really lost here. Are there any other bolts holding down the LIM aside from the ones going down directly into the intake manifold?

i also found this image:

9346wg09.gif

According to this there are 12 bolts. I counted 10 that I took off. What are bolts 5 and 6?

Look down inside the end of the intake. There may be oil/coolant inside covering those bolts. They're somewhat hidden.

Yeah I found them last night. There were too puddles of oil that were covering two of the bolts completely, so I dug my socket in there and finally found the bolt. I made sure to suck out all the oil first with paper towels so it wouldn't drip everywhere the moment I took the bolt out.

Engine is now in pieces and I have the LIM off (which came off effortlessly once I got those bolts off). Parts were scheduled to be delivered yesterday, but they didn't arrive for some reason, so my work is on hold till then. I'll probably clean up the LIM before putting it back on and try to clean off some of the sludge left by Dex-cool since it seems like it was never flushed out.

how bad were the lower gaskets?

I don't know, you tell me. Here's the damage I saw:

IMG_0312.jpg

IMG_0311.jpg

IMG_0310.jpg

IMG_0309.jpg

IMG_0308.jpg

IMG_0305.jpg

IMG_0304.jpg