Ways You'd Improve the 1st Gen W

GP1138

It's 1986 - you've been transported to the past, and miraculously, you're on the GM-10 project, that is supposed to help revitalize GM's image, and bring them back from possible financial ruin. Knowing all you know now about how the cars have aged, what are some things you think would improve the overall quality of these cars in fifteen years? Do you think they survived the years they were meant to survive without falling apart terribly?

This is with an understanding of both quality control's effect on the bottom line... it's hard to keep these things on a budget. Also I'm aware that GM did fix these things in the newer "1.5" gen W's.

I'd do the following:

Strengthen the brakes - less problematic rear calipers

Use different materials to cover Lumina and Cutlass dashpads

Design the turn signal switches differently in the square columns (I'm not an engineer, but perhaps better quality metal on the contacts)

Glass headlights throughout the line, no plastic that can fade and discolor

I'll think of more, but I figured it was an interesting idea to write on.

• Replies 168
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• Euro

• RobertISaar

• GP1138

• pwmin

The first thing that comes to mind for me is rust/corrosion protection. Engineers knew/saw the effects of the elements on cars, they should've done more to keep the 1st gens from rusting apart (literally).

all my ideas revolve around a Z34 since its the only 1st gen ive owned....

so, everything john said, +

- improve on the 4t60-e greatly, maybe offer an LSD

- build a shit ton more 5-speeds, and make them rebuildable

- replace the LQ1 timing belt with a chain

- fix the issue that causes the LIM's to go bad so frequently

- strengthen the glove box door so it doesnt sag and look partly open

- stronger sway bars

- use the 3.1's much cheaper EGR

- larger offset on the wheels

- cupholders!

- hardtop convertable option!!!