Quick! PMIII ABS brake motor running constant

Lee

It isn't running like it's loaded though, it growls up....then down. Errrrrrit/aherrrrrrr, over and over. It dims the lights like a pulse.

I shut the car off and restarted. The motor sounded like it should for a few seconds and then once the system was charged it started the cycle up/down thing again.

Note: For at least 1/2 a year the pump was running for one second or less at just about evey pedal use.

Have to check the fluid level yet but it was fine two weeks ago.

I'm at work and can't get out to check under the hood.

Sounds like a final on the accummulator, yes? Pressure switch, hope?

I am not an expert on PMIII's. I was lucky with my TGP and replacing the accumulator had it working like a charm for the entire time I owned the car. It does sound like your accumulator has met it maker! :wink: Chris A would most likely be able to give the "that's definitely it" nod or point you in the right direction... 8)

I don't know Chis A's handle so I'll hope he sees the post. I'm wondering if fluid level alone could do it. I looked close enough to see that there are no leaks around the brakes and only the minimal seepage that I'm used to around the resivour cover. Wish the boss was off today.

Hope to check it anyway before heading home. I have to hussle though to get to my 7 yr old son's bus drop.

I'm not keen on driving it with the fuse out and the motor not running.

I have to get 35 miles home today, then I'm off until Tuesday night shift

I had a problem a little similar to this, my PMIII would just keep pressurizing, to the point it would whistle as it escaped from the overpressure valve?? Anyway, for me, it was my pump relay, it was stuck open, so even when my car was shut off it would continue pumping.

This might or might not be your problem, however...

Chris A has a great website about TGPs and a great deal of PMIII info is included...

http://aldridgec.home.att.net/TGP/brakes/powermaster.htm