Help with "on a budget" brakes...

wally05

Hey guys. Me and my friend are about replace my rear brakes (seized up calipers, like the usual). But I have a few questions. I'm pretty new at brake replacement, so any information is nice. Also, I'm kinda on a budget, but this needs to be done asap. If I could wait longer, I'd save up, but recent major repairs have left my "fix brake" fund kinda low.

1. The rear rotors seem to just have a thin layer of rust on them. Should I still replace both rotors or keep them?

2. Pads... These need to be replaced on all 4 brakes. Any good value pads that are budget friendly, but are good quality? I've used Raybestos with good luck before...

3. Calipers... Both rear sets are going out the door. Any recommendations? I plan on painting all my calipers red for looks and maybe it will help to prevent corrosion...?

I'm looking into it, but any advice would be helpful. I'm kinda in a hurry, so I didn't have time to search the site too much.

Korey

Factory rebuild calipers, something like $50 each from AutoZone or Advance, Heard good things about EBC Green Stuff pads, but never had them on anything of mine.

Mike

1. Rust is not a problem. Rotors get rusty anytime they're exposed to moisture and the brakes aren't used... or in your case, the calipers are bad.

2. I'm pretty happy with the Wagner Severe Duty pads I put on my Cutlass.

3. Where they corrode and seize, I don't think paint will help. It's the sliders that seize. Mine actually seemed to be a breakdown of the grease rather than corrosion, but anyway, paint won't help there. Paint doesn't hurt though, and it does keep them looking nice & pretty for several years. 4yrs later and my painted calipers still looked pretty good.

i just got a reman calliper from autozone last night for $35

rotors usually will run around $10 a piece

and you can get a set of break pads for $14 or so.

If you get like the cheapest of everything.

If you get like the cheapest of everything.