1993 Grand Prix GTP - What mods are best?

R Dubya

A friend of mine just bought one of these cars.. it's white with white xlace wheels. Nice car, grey interior, it's loaded, like all of these cars were. Anyway, I was inquiring about mods.. potential things that could be done to make it perform better. I have no knowledge of the 3.4 DOHC, seems to be somewhat problematic to some.. others like it. How about a thermostat? That thing runs hot, almost as hot as my TGP before the TG160. Anyone have any ideas about mods? TIA.

Best thing to do would be to make sure that engine is tuned properly. I dunno much about them having never owned or worked on one, but check the timing belt, and do a full tune-up on the car. They are a picky performance engine and making sure it is running 100% is probably the best thing you can do for performance.

If you really wanted to make it fast, you'd order some cams...you'd have to drop some serious cash, but I really wanna see what a 3.4 will do with some performance cams.

his car runs high tempture??? weird, because mine will NEVER EVER go above half way, the highest its ever gotten was about 220F.

as for 3.4 upgrade....they=cash, but go to fast forward performance website and they have an AWSOME chip for the 3.4, and also a matching undrive pully. you can also fin a cone filter through a numerous websites.

i've coupled a few links for you, and yes one of the websites is for a z34, but stuff that goes under the hood will be the same.

http://www.geocities.com/luminaz34page/

absolutely the best website for the chip, ud pully, and dogbones

http://www.fastfwdperformance.com/

and over all great set up of parts.

http://www.rsmracing.com/us/pontiac/34dohcpont.htm

If you really wanted to make it fast, you'd order some cams...you'd have to drop some serious cash, but I really wanna see what a 3.4 will do with some performance cams.