93 Z34 Rear leaf compressor

DannZ34

I'm new here. And I have bought a used Z34. 152,000 + miles. I need to replace the rear struts. I bought a repair manual and it speaks of some compression tools that are necessary to do the job. The car has the transverse leaf spring in the rear. Does anyone have some experience in this repair they would like to share. I need to fix this soon. I appreciate any help that you might have.

Thanks for the quick response. That is just the info I need to go at it myself with more confidence. This is my only car right now and I have to be able to do this repair in a timely manner.

I can paint them and make em' look better than new but with mecanical stuff I'm a rookie.

Dann

one thing i'll caution you with is that the bottom strut bolts can get seized in the knuckle. mine were.

best bet at that point is to remove the rear caliper and knuckle and beat them out with a good sledge on the floor. and do NOT mar up the threads.

Well it turns out I had to take some heat to the the knuckle in the area of the upper bolt it just would not come out on its own no matter how hard I beat it. Its out now though and I didn't destroy the bolts either. Hopefully I have better luck tomorrow.