winterizing a ragtop?

kaptnjack

well...ol' man winter is upon us here in the mid south.

This is my first year with the cutty in the garage and I am curious as to what others do to winterize their raggy for the winter.

I am lucky in that I do have a garage to store her but unsure what "special" things to do to keep safe this winter. This is my first raggy.

I do have a carcraft cover and a unheated dry garage.

Engine wise....I know to check coolant and fluids etc.

Does anyone setup on jack stands to protect the tires?

What about a battery mender or disconnect?

What about the top...leave it latched or unlatched?

any discussions or tips?

I wish I was in Ten. I would never winterize My Z34, compared to being where I am in Montreal Quebec. My Z34 has been in the garage since August.

I make sure that all fluids are at the level it supposed to be. I make sure that the tires have the right amount of air. I leave the battery in the car. But during the winter I start my car every 2 days, and let it run for about 20 Mins.

one of mine is in a garage. that car is up on blocks letting the tires hang. it has stabilizer in the tank and the battery has been removed. When I get back to run it again, I will check tires for pressure and then lower the car, roll is out of the garage. I'll do a cursory fluid check and install the battery. I will pull a fuse to prevent he car from starting (fuel/ecm/etc etc etc) and crank the motor until the oil light turns off/gauge pegs out, limiting myself to a maximum crank of no more than 10 seconds at a time. then reinstall the fuses and bring it to life.

Starting your car ever two days is TOO MUCH. you will actually do alot more engine wear with the constant cold starts, use alot of fuel, and likely never get the exhaust hot enough so that it will rust out your mufflers. follow my advice above.

Nice advise Crazy K. I never had any problems with the way I did it. But I might just try your advise this winter.