Brake Caliper tightness

pitzel

Hi. I know little to nothing about brakes, but is it normal, on the front disc brakes of my 1992 Cutlass Surpreme, for there to be significant 'play' in the mounting of the caliper on its mount? ie: I can grasp the brake hose, give it a bit of a light tug, and the entire caliper moves somewhat in place.

Same thing happens on both sides. The brakes have never felt 'right' in this car, and i'm obviously wondering if merely removing and tightening some bolts on the calipers themselves might make a difference? Is there naturally supposed to be some 'play' in the actual mounting of the front brake calipers?

What tools will I need to do this? Any significant risks involved here, esp. considering that my calipers would appear to be significantly corroded?

Thanks for the reply digitaloutsider, this is my first ever car (never did have one when I studied electrical engineering at the university), at the ripe young age of 25, and this board has already saved me a good thousand dollars on simple repairs such as the oil pump drive seal, idle relearn, and a few others. I very much appreciate any help anyone can give me.

You need a Torx T-60 socket and a ratchet. Just tighten the bolts. They can strip, so be careful. Other than that, I don't think there are any other risks. You may want to take the calipers apart and lube the sliders with a little grease to ensure free movement. Other than that, you should be good to go.

If the bracket is firmly attached, but just the caliper itself is able to wiggle... that's normal to some degree when brakes are not engaged. Have a friend step on the brakes and there should be no play with the brakes engaged. If you suspect too much play, you'd need new slider bolts or slider sleeves in the calipers themselves.

Okay, so I pulled the front wheels off and gave the brakes a good inspection. Everything that could possibly be tightened town, was tightened down.