Clear Coat Repair

radray64

My clear coat is chipping off the front fender... Do I just start sanding lightly?

making sure not to break though the paint though.......its a white 93 GP...

What grit to start with too??:shrug:

If the clear coat has chipped off, there is none left. Don't do anything short of getting it repainted or it will look worse. I am a painter at a PPG and ICAR certified body shop. About a dozen other people might post in here about some sweet way of making it look half-assed. Don't. If it's really, REALLY small area, just touch it up with the touch up paint you can get in the little bottles. Otherwise, you will have to redo the fender, whether it be some half-ass rattle-can job, or taking it to a actual body shop. Those are really your only options.

depends on if the base coat is gone or not. looking at my car, since it's clear recently failed I am guessing I can scrub off the clear that is flaking with a 3m pad and shoot it with some automotive clear through my paint gun. if it looks bad still, I guess I will go get some base coat mixed up and redo the top of the bumper at least, if not the entire car.

depends on if the base coat is gone or not. looking at my car, since it's clear recently failed I am guessing I can scrub off the clear that is flaking with a 3m pad and shoot it with some automotive clear through my paint gun. if it looks bad still, I guess I will go get some base coat mixed up and redo the top of the bumper at least, if not the entire car.

No.

Once your clearcoat begins to peel, the only sure-fire fix is a repaint. There are quite a few reasons here.

You WILL see the edge of of the old clear under the new clear. Just like clearing over blends and burn-throughs, you will see the outline.

Your basecoat underneath is already contaminated by the environment and will likely lead to a re-peel

UV rays dramatically fade unprotected basecoat and has probably already began to fade the color.