2010 Snow Tire Thread!!!

Night Fury

What(if) are you using this winter?

I'm thinking of getting a set for the Comp G. With a good set of snow tires, this thing should be an absolute BEAST in the snow with traction control AND stability control, and of course ABS.

I'm looking at the Bridgestone Blizzak WS70. Its new for this year I believe, has anyone had experiences with the previous generations? I love the way they look and they're cheap enough. They are $99 each. I hear the previous gen had an epic rating somewhere in the 9s

There is also the General Altimax Arctic that caught my eye... They are only $77 each. They represent the cheapest and strangely enough, the best performing of the studdable segment.

quickLook.gif

Lets hear your plans/experiences!

• Replies 130
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• xtremerevolution

• Night Fury

• mra32

• BXX

The reason im getting them this winter and havent got them before is that it is my first time commuting in a car since summer 06. And my first time commuting in a car during winter ever. I used to commute on my road bike at all other times. Yes, even in the snow. Riding a fixed gear road bike in the snow is fun. Nothing like getting caught at school in a snow storm and having 6" of snow to ride through all the way home on slick tires skinnier than an inch! I made it the mile back uphill through the city without so much as putting my foot down!

I will be picking up whatever is cheap on craigslist. As far as im concerned, the worst performing snow tire should probably do better than my tires in the snow. I'd even consider regular ole all seasons snow tires compared to what I have. I drove the lumina in the snow with regular all seasons and it was fine. My current tires are HORRID in any amount of snow.

Edited by mra32