Drag Racing Question

97loudcut

So I am going to be heading up to Milan soon to see what the Cutlass does. This is my first time ever at a track and I was wondering how do I warm up my tires?

I always see cars doing little burn outs before they run but how do I do it?

• Replies 77
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• 97loudcut

• Euro

• terryk2003

• 19Cutlass94

set the e-brake and put your foot to the floor. Make sure your in the waterbox when you do this. Then when you want to move forward, simply undo the e-brake.

But honestly, if the track has good compound on it, and you have a sticky/soft tire ( good street tire ) I really see no reason to do this. A 3100 will not spin the tires on a track that has good compound with a good tire.

Drive around the water if you are running radial tires, just hold the brake, hit the gas and let off the brake, you don't need to do a Top Fuel style burnout, just a spin to get the sand and debris off of the tires, and warm them up a bit.

Practice your launch on an empty street before you go, find out just how much gas you can give it to minimize wheel spin on the launch.

I read somewhere that with our engines (stock-ish 3.1s) that a little tire spin at the start is okay cause it will get the RPMs up for the rest of the race. What Bossman said sounds good though. When I used to take my 88 GP 2.8 I couldn't do burnouts cause the e-brake was fucked, so I'd just drive up slowly to the water and then smash the gas as I drive through it, spinning the tires a little bit. Of course we're comparing 130hp vs 160hp+ ...

1: drive around the water box.

2: line up straight, in front of the water box.

3: do a "dry hop" - basically punch it for a second to spin the tires and clean any dirt off them. do not go past starting line. you'll look dumb and get made fun of.

4: slowly pull up when they tell you to, and light the pre stage bulbs(first set of yellows). wait for guy next to you to do the same.