why does my 3.1 use an alternator for a 3.4?

Guest TurboSedan

Guest TurboSedan

the last two days i've been trying to get a new alternator for my Cutlass. i went to NAPA first, and asked for an alternator for a '91 Cutlass with a 3.1. that alternator was clocked totally different from mine, and the mounting bolt near the PS pump wasn't tapped like mine. the parts guy and myself thought it must be a fluke so i ordered another. the one that came in today is the same way. i didn't buy it because i doubt my wiring harness would even reach the different plug & '+' terminal location. not only that, since the front mounting hole on the alternator wasn't even tapped, i couldn't even mount it unless i used a backup nut and a longer bolt. however, when i bought this alternator back in 2001, the alternator brace would no longer bolt up, so it may very well be i have been using the wrong alternator since 2001. everything else worked fine except the brace.

so they cross referenced mine and found that mine is actually for a 3.4 DOHC Cutlass. the parts guy went and grabbed a new '92 3.4 DOHC alternator and compared it to mine. sure enough it was exactly like mine; it was clocked exactly the same and the front mount hole on the alternator case was tapped like mine is.

can someone with a 3.1 post a pic that shows how the alternator is clocked and the plug & '+' terminal location? and can you tell me weather the front mounting hole in the alternator case (near the PS pump) is tapped or not? if it is not tapped, does it use a long bolt with a backup nut?

so far i'm thinking i just need to buy another 3.4 alternator :? i am confused.

Guest TurboSedan

in this pic you can see how the alternator is clocked by looking at location of the plug and '+' terminal. the plug points straight to the front of the car. is this wrong?

DSC01374.JPG

100_0240.jpg

physicly it looks different, but theres a pic if anyone wants to make a little drawing off it or somthing