Sieze the day that u have an olds

skiiirt

As of today I am taking the bus. My 1992 Cutlass 3.4L seized completely. Started off as a dead battery, turned into a nightmare.

I was wondering. I want to either put in a rebuilt engine or rebuild my seized one. What is the better choice, rebuild the one that seized or find a different one. I dont have too much faith in the 3.4 so I was thinkin,

Can I put a 3.1L into the car? Do I need to do anything special. I am not a mechanic, nor do I claim to know anything really about cars. I haven't talked this over with my mechanic (obviously), Im just lookin for some oppinions. I love my cutlass. I've had 1 other and also have a bravada. I love the Oldsmobile line which unfortunately along with my car is done with today! I just cant let this baby go so soon. Please give me some kind wise words!

I don't think it would be too much work dropping in a 3.1. I know I'll get shit thrown at me by the 3.4 guys ... you would have less power than the 3.4 but it's not a PITA engine to work on and extremely reliable and lots of them in the junkyards cause they outlast the cars.

Try to find a used 3.4 in good condition. 3.4's are good engines, they are no more likely to seize up than a 3.1 considering the bottom end is very very similar, only beefier.

What do you think the 3.4 is locked up? if its not cracking it could be as simple as a starter. If the starter cant turn the motor, take a socket and breaker bar on the crank pully and see of u can turn it over, it ya can, put a little wd40 in each cyl (spray in fluid for like 4-5 seconds each cyl) and crank it over by hand.

Make sure theres oil in it and that the starter is working. good luck.

-Jeff

I don't think it would be too much work dropping in a 3.1. I know I'll get shit thrown at me by the 3.4 guys ... you would have less power than the 3.4 but it's not a PITA engine to work on and extremely reliable and lots of them in the junkyards cause they outlast the cars.