blue-looking headlights

godofthunder

Ok...I waant to get those cleaner white lights...like what many have been talking about recently. But...currently...not to sure if i wanan put all the money down for the Silverstars.

But...many (and espc. the ricers) you see these bulbs in there that look BLUE. I DO NOT want that....I want them to look normal.

Which ones are for me?

jon

Alright guys...stop knocking the cool blue bulbs. :cuss: I've been running them in my LE for 3 years now. I was NOT under the impression that they were blue when I bought them...and I was not disappointed. They do NOT give off blue light. They give off a clean white light. That is the GOAL. You do NOT want a yellowish (stock halogen) tint or a blue (ricer xenon wannabes) tint. You want white light..because white light is clean light. The only disadvantage to the COOL BLUEs is that they are not as bright as the Silverstars that I have in my GT.

So lay off em :dammit:

nice post...thats what i wanted.

Now...when your lights are off...do the bulbs look blue?

I dont want blue light..i want clean white. But i also dont want blue bulbs when they are off.

jon

Da Burnin' Rom is correct. I'm not sure why they named them Cool Blue, as Sylvania could probably sell more if they referred to them as "White". As far as I can tell, they do not have any significant blue appearance while in the headlamps of my Monte.

As mentioned, they simply project a whiter light over halogen lamps. While the output is not extremely brighter over halogens, the disappearance of the yellow tinge is wonderful for night driving.

Depending upon the cost difference from the Cool Blue's to the Silverstars, for every day driving, the Cool Blue's have their worth.

People need to remember that BLUE is the worst visible color in the spectrum. Anyone marketing a blue color projecting lamp is marketing a useless product.