Tire size reprogramming?

tunerlover3

So my ABS light has been on since a day after I put my GXP rims on.

Im pretty sure its the rims but I havent actually scanned it yet.

Is there a way to reprogram the abs system for bigger tires? Or is that just for the newer gm vehicles?

I have a GM tech 2 at school.

Tech 2 won't fix anything for you buddy (jK). I've been down that road before and we had all the cat's meow for scan tools at the tech I graduated from. More than likely: you have a bad wheel speed sensor (or did this just happen since replacing the wheels?) Otherwise, I was rolling on the 17's that are currently on my '92, on the 98 for awhile when I first got them, and it never threw a code or light, and my speedo was off by like 5mph at highway speeds. In your case it might be because of the two different wheel sizes, or just the drastic change in overall wheel size comparing to vehicle speed.

If you've still got the original wheels and tires, put them back on the car, then drive around.

Cheap, no special tools needed, and you'll get an answer very quickly.

If the ABS light stays on with the original tires/wheels, look at the wheel sensors.

I doubt it is possible to program the ABS computer to ignore the speed difference; even if you could, doing so would make the ABS system less effective, as it would be less sensitive to speed differences between the front and rear, making lockup more likely.

If this resolves the ABS light issue due to the different diameter tires front to rear, you have 3 choices,

Keep the original wheels and tires on the car

Ignore the light

Put the same tire size on both ends of the car.

I'd pick #3, if it were mine. :biggrin: