New Member With 1991 Royal 88

MrMarty51

I am new to the 3800 world. Also a new member of this forum.

A real nice couple that lived a couple blocks from My house was getting ready to make a move to another state. They could not take the car with them but they also did not want to sink any money into it.

Oil leaks, transmission cooler line leaks, in general just needs a good seal up job.

The car had been garaged most all of its life. Other than s couple small parking lot door dings the body is very straight.

This car belonged to the gals dad and He kept it garaged, He passed on to Heaven, His daughter inherited the car and she also kept it garaged. I dont have a shelter to park the car in but I will be working on something to get it in, even if it is just a solid roof cover.

I’m retired from being a mechanic for the Montana DOT so I do know some about how to handle a wrench . I do not know it all and so I’m reaching out for some help.

Trips the SES lamp. Code 23 and code 41.

Dismantling components to get to the CPS.

IMG_8577.jpeg.08c64d7cc09f332e63e1d4cd5f6768ae.jpeg

Got it down this far then something I have never seen before.

Funny looking barrel clips around the studs that holds on this debris shield.

I found out it was called a debris shield by searching and reading the thread about installing a new CPS.

It didnt explain how to get these barrel clips to budge. 😹

IMG_8576.jpeg.6ea92b9fe149314bd39d1cd2c0fc017a.jpeg

The engine has a great plenty of oil leaks but I want to get it so that it is dependable before I tear into removing the intake manifold and any other suspected areas of leakage. 😹

Thank You in advance for any help that is supplied.

• Like 2

Welcome to the site. This isn't a w-body, but a lot of stuff is the same in this era of GM. 

Code 23 is for the Intake air temp sensor located on or near the air cleaner. Either wiring issue, sensor failure, or not plugged in or grounded correctly.