Need some help here.

john99gtp

Ok. So I just got a new instrument cluster from whiskey river (thanks alot man). Now, I have the pin layout that he sent me, but Im a newb to this crap. So i was wondering if someone can give me like, step by step instructions on how to do this, as well as any extra components i need. Like, how do i get the tach and voltmeter to work and crap. If theres a website out there, even better.

Thanks in advanced guys.

John

(Thanks Whiskey River!)

Ok. So I just got a new instrument cluster from whiskey river (thanks alot man). Now, I have the pin layout that he sent me, but Im a newb to this crap. So i was wondering if someone can give me like, step by step instructions on how to do this, as well as any extra components i need. Like, how do i get the tach and voltmeter to work and crap. If theres a website out there, even better.

Thanks in advanced guys.

John

(Thanks Whiskey River!)

You ready!?!? The cluster harness is a typical slide-lock harness, the pins slide in and lock into place. They make a special tool to remove them but a straightened paperclip works just as well (for me anyway). The easiest way to begin this project is to remove all the wires but beware that you have 2 wires of like color. One of them does not move, make sure that you label it before you remove it or a couple of your lights won't work right.

As for the tach, a wire will need to be ran from the ignition module. On the left side of the module is a connector with 5 wires in it. 2 of the wires are white. Unfortunately I don't remember right off which white wire you will splice into but the tach is driven directly from the IGN module by one of the wires and the other signals the ECM. You can see why you don't want to cut the wrong one. As for the volt meter, when the cluster is installed and powered up, the volt meter draws it's power from the cluster power.