How do I put nitrous on a junkyard 3.1?

theoldshedsquad

Hi, I'm a newbie to this forum and live in merrie olde England (which ain't that merry - it's the European FIA Drag Racing finals here this weekend and it's done nothing but rain for a week).

Anyway, I have a 1990 Pontiac Grand Prix 3.1 LE. Was sold new in the UK by the one and only official North American GM importer. It's a real beater now, but due to the lack of a "proper" race car at the moment I am racing it in the National Street Car Challenge (see www.hotrodgazette.com if you're interested!). The finals are coming up next month ...

This GP is never going to pass its next MoT (annual roadworthiness certificate/test) in January so I've stripped it out and it's going to race in our finals next month ... and it doesn't really matter if I kill it.

Best time so far has been a 17.5 ... not good enough. It's going to get nitroused. I've borrowed a fogger nozzle, I already have an old Sniper kit (with a plate). Does anyone know of an easy way to retard the timing on one of these motors?

Please note: A) I intend to spend NO money on this car if I can help it. B) I live probably 3000 miles from the nearest junkyard with another Grand Prix in it. C) the motor is all but standard

Love the site, would appreciate any help you can offer! And yes, I've asked the same question on the 60degreeV6 forum ... need all the help/advice I can get!

Dave

• Replies 60
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

• theoldshedsquad

• meltboy1

• AWeb80

• ManicMechanic

You could artificially retard the timing by unhooking the knock sensor... the computer will retard the timing to protect the motor.

the knock sensor will be on the rear of the motor, below the alternator. it has one green wire and the sensor is looks like a wide short cylinder, maybe 3/4 inch high by 2 inches in diameter.