adding cd changer to factory deck.. New question

rockfangd

i just had to ask this. i was researching information on cd changers and i came across a fm modulator for factory and aftermarket HUs. Does anyone know aything about these? Is it possible to use a factory cd changer with one? and how much work would i have to do to add it?. thanks to all in advance. I am not very good with modifying audio lol

well the cd changer is from my cadillac and i want to put it into my 94 oldsmobile cutlass supreme with the factory cd deck. So this is possible. can you give me some idea of how i would go about doing this. I can get the pinouts for the cd changer but i have no idea how to make it work

I have an FM modulator from a Delco CD changer I'll dig out...The changer quit working so I never used it after that. It's all plug and play. :D You won't be able to get yours to work with that CD player without an FM modulator.

well if you are interested in parting with it please give me a price. Also it looks like a remote, a reciever, and a few other things come with it. How do you wire the modulator to the changer. by splicing the wires or does it just plug in? Sorry for so many questions. I saved a good lenght of wire from the back of the cd changer so i have a bit for splicing.

Can you get a pic of the changer? Particularly the wiring you have? SO I can make sure it works, mine is out of a Cadillac too so it should be the same.

I think I know the one you're talking about and unfortunately, I am 99% sure it's not going to work for you because it's designed for the factory HU and not the one you have.

The only way I foresee it working is if you install a newer HU with factory changer controls.

On another note, I have a friend of a friend that swears he put an MP3 CD mechanism from a new Delco HU in his factory GP CD HU...Can't seem to confirm that one though...Perhaps Brian P can?