93 Lumina trouble (long)

Hey everybody. I got a problem with my car and i cant figure it out for the life of me. Well ok here goes: i first noticed it one day when i was driving up a hill my started chugging so i thought it was the tranny. Today when i had my car in my parking spot at home i had the front wheels up against the little lip of the curb and had it sitting in drive and i let it idle like that and i noticed every once in a while it would make a puffing noise and would chug without me touching the gas pedal and it would happen more often when i would roll my windows up or down and hold the buttons.

I also took it out onto an open highway and pushed the gas all the way to the floor and i know somewhere between idle and a certain rpm it continues to accelerate but a lot slower than normal and its also louder and vibrates the car pretty bad. I havent been able to get my fuel filter off because its rusted in so i dont know if its that or not and im not a mechanic so i havent even tried messing with my plugs or wires. I dont have a tach in my car so i dont know when it happens but could it have something to do with the switch that limits the rpms in park and neutral?

It completely baffles me. I was thinking maybe spark plugs, plug wires, fuel pump, fuel filter, or alternator? I really dont have a clue whats wrong though. Someone please help! TIA.

To tell you the truth i never really noticed but i did hear about someone else who was having problems accellerating and he said a chunk of the honeycomb in his cat broke off and it kinda sounded like my prob. Is there any way of checking without cutting it off because i would have to have a shop do that for me.

Another thing. Shortly after the first time i noticed the chugging i bought a can of gm top engine cleaner and did the decarbonization and then it started getting worse so i was also considering that i plugged up my exhaust somewhere or maybe my o2 sensor.

Guest Anonymous