No start no crank help request on 2000 ('00) Buick Regal LS

jason.arthur.taylor

This car does not crank.  Make model info:  2000 ('00) Buick Regal LS with OEM 3.8L (3800) gm engine (not super charged) automatic.

I have limited knowledge of the vehicle history.  There are no engine codes, but the car has not cranked since I changed the battery.  The voltage while the key is in the "crank" position rises slightly.  To me, this rules out a weak battery or locked engine.  Here is a video of it not cranking: http://jasontaylor.us/20160612_174120.mp4

I do not have the proper tools to raise my car at the moment to check the voltage to the starter motor while cranking.  A google search of the part # indicates that the bcm is probably from a buick century, a close cousin.  No idea why.  Does anyone have any ideas?

Question: does this dash light pattern while attempting to crank (but not cranking), and acc power pattern (like power windows stopping while attempting to crank) rule out a vats or bcm problem?  This gm model year uses a PASS-Key II (or passkeyII or passkey2) vats model with I think 15 resistor values possible.  One youtube video of a different vehicle (not a w body) suggests a vats problem would stop fuel only, and the car would crank and start for a few seconds.  This one does not even crank.

Is it possible that the drive/gear position sensor is broken, and the car is not cranking due to it thinking it is in gear?  

Do I really need bite the bullet and purchase the equipment to safely raise up the front of the car and measure the starter voltage while another person attempts to crank?

Many thanks in advance for your thoughts and potential help.