2 Tech Questions.

GPRACER

Hi all, newbie here and have 2 questions. I was recently posed with a small problem. I have been drag racing a small block dart for a few years, but now the car is an antique and I do not want to break anything, so I want to transform my daily driver into a respectable street/strip car.

I have a 1995 Grand prix se, I work as a GM technician at a dealership, so I have access to a large parts bin. I have already replaced most of the FE1 suspension components with FE3 ones, so the handling is improving.

Question 1 Can I use a 17x7.5 wheel and 235 50 17 tires on this car? It has the exact same outside diameter as the stock 205 70 15 tires. Does anyone know what backspacing I should use and if there are any problems with suspension clearance.

Question 2 Weight transfer when racing a RWD car is good, weight is transfered to the back wheels and hence traction. I'm assuming that this could be a bad thing with a FWD car. Would using a stiffer rear monoleaf enhance traction/weight transfer. The rear leaf is the last component I have to replace, as the rear of the car sags a bit lower than the front, should I use the stiffest one available?

Thanks to any/all who reply.