Upper Heater Hose/ Pipe Replcement

TheCapt

Hello All,

This is my first time back to W-Body since I sold my Monte a few years back :( . Everybody was very knowledgeable then, so I'm hoping I can get help with a problem my brother is having.

He has a 1993 Olds Cutlass Supreme. His low coolant light came on the other day and upon investigation I noticed the line that comes off the top of the water pump and runs along the bottom passenger side of the engine, then up to the heater core is leaking right under the coolant overflow. The issue is it starts rubber hose, then turns to metal where it goes around the engine, then back to rubber at the other end. The metal pipe looks like it is rusted all the way through under the coolant overflow.

My question is, do I need to replace this with the rubber/ metal hose like it has now, or can I just use rubber hose and run to the heater core? It looks like a decent size job to change the metal hose, and I have had no luck finding it available at local auto parts stores. I hate to buy one from the junkyard if they are prone to rust.

What do you think?

I haven't personally experienced this problem but maybe you could get a junkyard one and epoxy coat it to prevent it from rusting? Give it a bunch of decently thick coats or something like that?

I had this problem. I think i created it myself when i was monkeying on the pipe bypassing/replacing the heater core. It was leaking at the mounting tab, but it was already rusty. What I ended up doing is getting a 6' section of heater hose for like $7 from Pep Boys and replaced it. I also got some hose clamps to attach it. The size on the heater core end is a little smaller than the water pump end, but tightening the hose clamp a bunch has left me leak free. I think I needed like a little over 5 feet of hose. I also zip tied it into place since the hose obviously has no mounting tabs.