New guy and potential buyer

ShelbyCSX432

So, I'm new to the GM turbo world, but I'm looking at one of these Mclaren gran prix's. I've been reading about these things all day and still have a few questions. First off, what part of the exhaust is the crossover pipe, and how big of a performance item are they? Second, how do the stock fuel pumps hold up to bigger injectors? are they an item that I should replace right away? (when are bigger injectors needed also) What other items are need for upgrades besides custom burnt chips? It seems that these cars can be in the 13s with very little work and money. Also, how strong are these trannys? I'm really a manual fan, but have no problems with an auto besides knowing their true strength.

coming from the turbo dodge world, those cars are relatively easy to work on - how are these? I'm sorry that I have so many questions, but I want to know everything I can before I jump off into the unknown.

Thanks for your help

welcome. also check http://www.tgpforums.com, it is a specific forum, and a wider enthusiast base.

The crossover is the pipe that connects the front and rear manifolds together with the turbo. Factory was a poor design and you will find that 99% of the stock pipes have failed. Many cars actually received pipes under warranty, but GM never modified them and soon cracked again. There are replacement "aftermarket" ones available, but as far as we are all concerned, the GM is now aftermarket. :lol:

A few have done turbo swaps, an ever smaller few have done tranny swaps to manual. It can be done, I plan on doing it someday myself, when school is finished and I have the $$. The auto trannies seem to hold up pretty well for some, others have burned them up, but then again we have seen a couple of exploded 282 5 speeds as well.