95 LQ1 MAP sensor?

BlutRoyale93

Hey all, New to forum and not 100% sure how this "Posting" business works, but here goes.

Does anybody know why my 95 LQ1 GP does not have a MAP sensor?

May sound like a total noob question but I've seen several images of an LQ1 intake diagram and they all show MAP.

• Like 1

Not sure how well the image comes out but the diagram shows a MAP being located here.

I didn't specify the details of the car, apologies 1995 Grand Prix LQ1.

post-9689-0-90593000-1458276675_thumb.jpg

Not sure how well the image comes out but the diagram shows a MAP being located here.

I didn't specify the details of the car, apologies 1995 Grand Prix LQ1.

You have a '93-older diagram and a '95 vehicle.  That diagram shows EXACTLY where the MAP is on my '92 and '93 LQ1s.

(Edited to say '93-older instead of the previous " '94-older".  Thanks for the correction, Nas Escobar)

Only reason I ask is because I went into my nearest O'Reilly Auto Parts and they misheard me when I asked for a replacement MAF and brought out a MAP.

I told them my year, model, make and engine and their system brought up a MAP, so I figured I should have one on the engine already. I even go onto the O'Reilly site and it shows a MAP.

It just confuses me as to why they make a MAP for my year and engine but I don't have one currently existing.

If anyone has any pointers or explanations I'd appreciate it.

1991-1993 LQ1's have a MAP sensor. 1994-1997 LQ1's have a MAF sensor. The MAP is located on the accessory pulley side (where the serpentine belt goes) of the engine on the top side of the intake plenum.

Your 95 Grand Prix won't have a MAP because it has a MAF where the air filter box is.

Not sure why O'Reilly's is giving you a MAP but Advance Auto Parts and Auto Zone both have MAFs listed for 94-97.

This is the part number at Advance's website. It is Reman, but should be available new somewhere. Here you go. 74-8309